Fort Riley, Kansas



Awards of Excellence

By Andy Massanet | Public Affairs Office | May 14, 2013

Staff members and contributors of the 1st Infantry Division Post newspaper were awarded 16 Kansas Press Association Awards of Excellence during a May 4 KPA awards ceremony at the Capitol Plaza Hotel in Topeka. The 1st Inf. Div. Post won 16 KPA AoE in the Non-Daily Division III category.


They were:

Newspaper awards

1st Place – News and Writing Excellence

1st Place – Sports Pages

3rd Place – Design and Layout Excellence

3rd Place – Special Section, Editorial


Individual awards

1st Place – News Story – Mollie Miller

1st Place – Youth Story – Dena O'Dell

1st Place – Best Healthcare Ad – Sarah Lieswald

2nd Place – Feature Photo – Mollie Miller

2nd Place – Sports Photo – Amanda Kim Stairrett

2nd Place – Best Community Event Ad – Justin Angeles

2nd Place – Best Story/Picture Combination – Mollie Miller and Amanda Kim Stairrett

3rd Place – Feature Story – Dena O'Dell

3rd Place – News Photo – Amanda Kim Stairrett

3rd Place – Feature Package – Flavia Hulsey

3rd Place – Best Story/Picture Combination – Flavia Hulsey

3rd Place – Best Environmental Portrait – Mollie Miller


Keith L. Ware Awards


The 1st Inf. Div. Post also earned third place in the Metro-Format Newspaper category in the Keith L. Ware Army Public Affairs Competition.

The 1st Inf. Div. Post is a part of the Fort Riley Public Affairs Office. Staff members include Hulsey, O'Dell, Reece and Fiedler.

Also part of PAO is a broadcast section responsible for video production and audiovisual support across the installation. Scott Rhodes earned the following KLW awards:

1st Place – Television Information Program

1st Place – Television Spot Production

2nd Place – Television News Report

2nd Place – Television Feature Report