Kansas Bad Check and Post-Dated Check Laws
Story by: FRP Staff
Would you pay $500 for a $10 pizza? Obviously not, but you will pay $500 and even more if you write a bad check in Kansas and fail to pay the amount before the case goes to court.
Here is how the $10 pizza turns into a $500 pizza: if the creditor decides to take you to court for not paying a bounced check, Kansas law allows the creditor to recover all court costs ($60+), attorney's fees ($300+) and an amount equal to three times the amount of the check or $100, whichever is greater. If you bounce a check, it is better to pay for it up front rather than incurring expensive fees down the road.
If you write a post-dated check, Kansas law allows banks to cash them! This means that if you write a post-dated check to a creditor, your creditor can legally attempt to cash the check at the bank. If you do not have funds in your bank account to cover the check amount, you have just written a bad check. If you do not "cover" the bounced check you subject yourself to the consequences of Kansas' bad checking laws discussed in the paragraph above.
If you are getting ready to deploy and have any issues discussed above, then you need to get them settled before you are deployed.
Army Community Service
Financial Readiness Program
Custer Hill, 7264 Normandy Drive
Fort Riley, Kansas 66442